Mr. Rogers, AWW YEAH! – 5 Inspirational Quotes from an Unlikely Guru

Photo of the book I found about Fred Rogers at B&N.

Photo of the book I found about Fred Rogers at B&N.

Back when I was a kid growing up on the outskirts of Queens, my favorite past time was watching kids television shows. I remember Barney and Sesame Street the most, but the most memorable one to me now is Mr. Roger’s Neighborhood. He has a real sweet spot in my heart because he was a role model to me before I even knew to look for one. I miss watching him zip up his cardigans and tossing one Converse-like shoe to the other… I also miss the times when he went on trips to visit his neighborhood. Brings back memories.

He’s still one of my biggest role models- right up there with Gandhi, Yuri Kochiyama and Thich Nhat Hanh. He can be your role model too. I can almost hear people saying, Mr. Rogers? Pfft! How can a childrens’ TV show host teach us anything about life? The answer is quite simply: a lot.

Here are a few of my favorite quotes, which resonated most with me. They’re great points to focus and reflect on. 🙂

  1. “Often when you think you’re at the end of something, you’re at the beginning of something else. I’ve felt that many times. My hope for all of us is that the ‘miles we go before we sleep’ will be filled with all the feelings that come with deep caring- delight, sadness, joy, wisdom- and that in all the endings of our life, we will be able to see the new beginnings.” – F. Rogers

  2. “Love isn’t a state of perfect caring. It is an active noun like struggle. To love someone is to strive to accept that person exactly the way he or she is, right here and now.” – F. Rogers

  3. “Forgiveness is a strange thing. It can sometimes be easier to forgive our enemies than our friends. It can be hardest of all to forgive people we love. Like all of life’s important skills, the ability to forgive and the capacity to let go of resentments most likely to take root very early in our lives.” – F. Rogers

  4. “When you combine your own intuition with a sensitivity to other people’s feelings and moods, you may be close to the origins of valuable human attributes such as generosity, altruism, compassion, sympathy and empathy.” F. Rogers

  5. “The world needs a sense of worth, and it will achieve it only by its people feeling that they are worthwhile.” – F. Rogers

That’s all for now guys. Oh, and happy New Years Eve to everyone! =) I hope you all are surrounded by loved ones. The end of a year is always a time of reflection. Maybe I’ll write up a New Years Resolution post! Bye!

Leave a Reply

