5 New Year Retro-Reflections

herbs I am not forward thinking today. I’d rather be grateful.

Looking for a job and building a career forces me to look into the uncertainty of the future, but today I crave looking back into the past. I’ve prepared some retro-reflections for myself today that I want to share with you. I just came up with that, retro-reflections. A list of things that didn’t make it to my New Years list, but that I am grateful I accomplished anyway.

  • Started flossing

This came out of nowhere. And now, I can’t stop. It feels good knowing that everyday I’m doing a little thing that will be saving me a lot of pain and regret in the future. Isn’t that the essence of preventative care?

  • Three years in a committed, semi-long distance relationship.

Enough said.

  • Finished my first 10k running.

My two secrets? A. I still hate running. and B. Find yourself a really good mentor/coach/running mate that’s willing to sweat it out with you.

  • Keep a spending diary. 

I’ve taken my credit card out of my wallet and done the equivalent of putting it in my freezer. I am trying now to be more responsible with using my money. It starts with being honest to myself about where it goes.

  • Get a semester 4.0 GPA.

I consider myself a solid B+ student. But last semester I finally got a semester 4.0 GPA.

  • Work at a real bakery part-time for 5 months.

The people, the atmosphere, the smell of baked goods… I relish it, and I regret having not started sooner. I am in my own medium when I’m at a bakery.

January is a time of reflection. My Facebook feeds, YouTube stream and Feedly are speckled with new-year resolutions. I hear a lot of things that used to be at the top of my list too: get more active, eat healthier i.e. LOSE WEIGHT, shop less, be more thrifty, reconnect with family members and friends… 

…and oddly enough, I’ve been silent. It is because I make resolutions about my life every single day. Regret, envy, self-denial- I cannot deny that these things fester in me. I recognize them. But bigger than both these things are respect, admiration. Yes, I have goals, but I don’t want to jinx myself. But for now, I’ll share with you just one.

To keep blogging! 🙂

Leave a Reply

